Positive game post-mortem, and Gamescom

Also tips for getting the most out of a game jam

Hello and Welcome, I’m your Code Monkey!

Are you at Gamescom right now? I wish I could be there, it looks fun!

At least I will be going to Unite next month, if you're also going and you see me there come say hi!

There are still tickets available at https://cmonkey.co/unite2024 and with coupon Unite24CPINSCM you can get a 20% OFF discount.

Lately I've been working on my DOTS Course, I've just published 15 new lectures covering more on the Job System, more Targeting logic, and importantly building a custom DOTS Animation System from scratch!

Really interesting and teaches you how to use more DOTS features like Blob Assets/Arrays and [NativeDisableParallelForRestriction]

If you already own the course you have access to the new lectures, and if not you can get it here.

  • Game Dev: Positive Post-mortem, Game Jam Tips

  • Gaming: Gamescom

Game Dev

A positive post-mortem

Game dev is really difficult, there are many scary stories of games that did not find success, but thankfully there are also positive ones!

You should definitely pay attention to both types to learn what to DO and what NOT to do.

Here's a great post from a successful game called Dystopika, it's a solo-developed Cyberpunk City Builder. Currently with over 1000 reviews at 97% positive, potentially around $300,000+ in revenue in one month, it's a huge hit!

It was inspired by Townscaper but with a Cyberpunk vibe. By itself this is a great tip, find a game that is successful and apply a different theme to it.

Another great success tip, and one of my personal favorites, is cost of living reduction. If you spend $10k per month then a 1 year game needs $120,000 to break even, whereas if you spend $1k per month you just need $12,000.

They worked with a marketing agency, which can be either a positive or negative, you should at least know the basics yourself, I made some great videos with Chris Zukowski if you want to learn game marketing.

User Generated Content was a bonus, modding is always great if you can add it. Release timing on top of a AAA game can be helpful, Next Fest is important and you should prioritize Design over programming. All great tips!

I love reading post mortems, both the failures and the successes. It always helps me either learn something new or solidify some knowledge I already have. I highly encourage you to do the same to keep leveling up your own skills.

Game Dev

Game Jam do's and don'ts

The biggest game jam of the year has just happened, the GMTK Game Jam organized by Mark Brown of the excellent YouTube channel Game Maker's Toolkit.

Over 7500 games were submitted (new record) and voting is currently underway. The theme this year was "Built to Scale" which people have interpreted in many interesting ways.

He also always posts some fascinating stats on engine usage in the jam, this year Godot got a huge boost from 19% to 38%, likely due to the Unity mess last year.

Alongside that here's a great post with some tips on how to NOT participate in a game jam. Do NOT jump on the first idea that comes to mind, do NOT make tons of art and then code, do NOT overwork yourself and do NOT publish at the very last moment. All great tips.

I have made a video talking about my thoughts on Game jams and why I don't normally participate. However that doesn't mean they are bad, I think they're excellent for forcing you to learn a lot in a very short amount of time, but they also have some downsides. If you've never done one I highly recommend you try it.

Gaming

Gamescom brings the games!

Gamescom happened this week, were you there? I wish I was!

As usual lots of game announcements and showcases. For me the main highlight was Mafia: The Old Country, I love the Mafia series. There is also Borderlands 4 and Civilization VII coming in 2025. 

Monument Valley 3 if you want something chill, Dying Light: The Beast has some more first person parkour, and for some VR Batman Arkham Shadow is looking awesome.

Black Ops 6 and Indiana Jones and The Great Circle also got more showcases.

One announcement that is not a game is Secret Level, it's a 15 episode animated series with original stories set in the worlds of various games like God of War, Ghost of Tsushima and Sifu.

I really want to attend Gamescom someday, especially now that E3 is dead it seems like the last big remaining gaming convention, it looks fun!

Get Rewards by Sending the Game Dev Report to a friend!

(please don’t try to cheat the system with temp emails, it won’t work, just makes it annoying for me to validate)

Thanks for reading!

Code Monkey

Reply

or to participate.